Visit TLED’s Teaching Online Continuity Guide to find resources and support for transitioning courses to a virtual learning environment. Collegewide updates are available on the Austin Community College COVID-19 webpage.

Search TLED
Search ACC

Past League Excellence Winners

In recognition of the long tradition of excellence in community college teaching and leadership, the League Excellence Awards (formerly Roueche Awards) celebrate outstanding contributions and leadership by community college faculty and staff. Selected by a committee, recipients are recognized at the ACC Awards Dinner and have the opportunity to attend the League for Innovations Conference in the spring.


Amardeep Kahlon, Computer Information Tech
Jessica Vess, College Communications Director
Missi Patterson, Psychology
Curtiss Stevens, ACCelerators Executive Director
Georgia Xydes, History
Todd Phillips, Foreign Language
Brandon Whatley, Design, Manufacturing, Construction & Applied Technologies Dean


Shasta Buchanan, Executive Director, High School Relations
Shirin Khosropour, Professor, Psychology
Joey Offer, Professor, Mathematics
Pat Recek, Dean, Health Sciences
Celeste Rios, Adjunct Professor, Government
Tim Strouse, Professor, Welding


Linda Smarzik, Dean, Computer Studies and Advanced Technology
Kelle Howard, Professor, Associate, Nursing
Neil Vickers, Executive Vice President, Finance and Administration
Robert H. Blodgett, Professor, Geology
Mario Aguilar, Adjunct, Professor, Paralegal, Management, Real Estate
Stacey Thompson Stover, Professor, English, Developmental Writing


Administrator of the Year: Yolanda Chapa, Professor, Government
President’s Leadership Excellence Award: Virginia M. Fraire, Vice President, Student Services
Teaching Excellence Full-time Faculty Award: Frank Cronin, Professor, Developmental Writing
Teaching Excellence Adjunct Faculty Award: Sean Perry, Associate Professor, Photography
ACC Piper Professor Nominee: David M. Lauderback, Professor, History


Administrator of the Year: Gaye Lynn Scott, Dean, Social and Behavioral Sciences
President’s Leadership Excellence Award: Pamela W. Sutton, Senior Executive Assistant to the President/CEO
Teaching Excellence Full-time Faculty Award: Patty Collier, Professor, Physical Therapy Assistant
Teaching Excellence Adjunct Faculty Award: Rodney E. Rohde, Adjunct Professor, Biology
ACC Piper Professor Nominee: Missi Patterson, Professor, Psychology


Administrator of the Year: Hazel Ward, Dean, Communications
President’s Leadership Excellence Award:
Michael Midgley, Vice President of Instruction
Kathleen Christensen, Vice President, Student Services
Teaching Excellence Full-time Faculty Award: Laura Juárez de Ku, Biology Professor
Teaching Excellence Adjunct Faculty Award: Tiff Holland, Adjunct English Professor
ACC Piper Professor Nominee: Gale Spear, Professor, Child Care and Development


Dr. Eileen Klein, Executive Dean, Health Sciences
Dr. Jennifer Beck, Associate Professor of Psychology
David Lauderback, Professor of History
Dr. Enrique Solis, Interim Executive Vice President & Provost