Visit TLED’s Teaching Consultations & Support page for comprehensive support in course design, technology tools for teaching, and other high-impact practices. Join our Facebook group where ACC faculty and staff are sharing insights, best practices, and advice. Collegewide updates are available on the Austin Community College Info Hub.

Search TLED
Search ACC
Evening skyline, Austin, TX

ACC Annual Awards Celebration

Each year, the Austin Community College (ACC) Chancellor and the Board of Trustees honor outstanding ACC faculty and staff who have been selected for Leadership and Teaching Excellence Awards. Congratulations to the 2024 Award Recipients!

The Awards Celebration will be held on Friday, April 26th at the Hyatt Regency Hotel from 6:00 pm – 9:00 p.m. Tickets will be available for purchase closer to the date of the event.

2024 Award Recipients

The Leadership Awards

ACC celebrates outstanding Staff who demonstrate strong leadership and who have gone above and beyond the duties listed in their job description for the ACC community.

Administrator of the Year

Dr. Susan Warner-Sanchez
Associate Vice Chancellor, Teaching & Learning Excellence Division (TLED)

Classified Employee of the Year

Jennifer Garcia
Assistant III, Administrative, Campus Manager, Rio Grande Campus

Faculty Leader of the Year

Wendy Elle
Professor, English and Dept. Chair, Composition and Literary Studies, Liberal Arts Humanities & Communications Division

Professional-Technical Employee of the Year

Matthew Evins
Director, Academic Technology, Teaching & Learning Excellence Division (TLED)

Chancellor’s Leadership Excellence Awards


Tracie German

North Regional Director, Campus Operations


Jessica Hejny

Associate Professor, Sonography Department

Travis Jackson

Executive Assistant, Chancellor’s Office

Geneva Monroe

Regional Coordinator, Student Life

Teaching Excellence Awards

The ACC Teaching Excellence Awards honor one full-time and one adjunct faculty member who promotes special learning opportunities, student interaction, depth/breadth of knowledge in a subject area, and innovation. Nominations are made by students, faculty and staff, and the honorees. Recipients are selected by a committee and presented with an award and a $1000 cash prize.


Louisa Spaventa

Adjunct Faculty, Composition & Literary Studies


Melissa Vetter

Professor, Dental Hygiene 

DAISY Award for Extraordinary Nursing Faculty

The DAISY Award for Extraordinary Nursing Faculty honors nursing faculty who inspire their students to remember that nursing is more than tasks and technology. The DAISY nurse faculty is one who ensures that both the art and science of nursing are brought to every patient experience. This award celebrates nursing faculty for their inspirational influence on the nurses of today and tomorrow.

Tenea Harvey

Professor, Professional Nursing

eFaculty of the Year Award

This award recognizes an outstanding ACC Faculty member who has creatively utilized appropriate Internet-based technologies to teach online and/or hybrid courses at ACC. The recipient must have designed and taught one or more online or hybrid courses with an imaginative approach, well-designed course materials, instructional strategies, and a demonstrated rapport with the course participants.

Daira Wilson

Professor, Professional Nursing

NISOD Excellence Awards

The National Institute for Staff and Organizational Development (NISOD) has emphasized the importance of teaching and leadership excellence in institutions of higher education. Recipients of the NISOD Excellence Award are recognized at the annual International Conference on Teaching and Leadership Excellence, and this award honors the world’s best in higher education. Please join us in congratulating the following ACC faculty and staff members receiving the NISOD Excellence Award.


LaKisha Barrett

Professor, Biology


William Coode

Adjunct, History


Frank Curry

Professor, Photography


Daniel Dewberry

Adjunct, Professor, Management


Vincent Foster

Adjunct Faculty, Heating, Air Conditioning, and Refrigeration


Theodore Krause

Professor, Architectural & Engineering CAD


Joseph Martinez



Photo Coming Soon




Professor, Mathematics


Steven Sodders

Professor, Music

The Piper Professor Nominee Award

The Piper Professor Nominee Award is a statewide award that recognizes outstanding full-time faculty in the teaching profession. Higher education institutions must be invited to submit a nominee and only ten professors are selected to receive this award each year. Awards of $5,000 are given to those selected for their superior teaching at the college level.

Sadaf Sajjad

Provost Allyship Fellow, Psychology

The League Excellence Awards

In recognition of the long tradition of excellence in community college teaching and leadership, the League Excellence Awards (formerly Roueche Award) celebrate outstanding contributions and leadership by community college faculty and staff. Selected by a committee, recipients will be recognized at an awards celebration at ACC and have the opportunity to attend the League for Innovations Conference in the spring.

  • Dr. Susan Warner-Sanchez, Associate Vice Chancellor, Teaching & Learning Excellence Division – Administrator of the Year
  • Louisa Spaventa, Adjunct Faculty, Composition & Literary Studies – Teaching Excellence Award
  • Tracie German, North Regional Director, Campus Operations – Chancellor’s Leadership Excellence Award
  • Travis Jackson, Executive Assistant, Chancellor’s Office – Chancellor’s Leadership Excellence Award
  • Melissa Vetter, Professor, Dental Hygiene – Teaching Excellence Award
  • Jessica Hejny, Associate Professor, Sonography Department Chancellor’s Leadership Excellence Award
  • Geneva Monroe, Regional Coordinator, Student Life – Chancellor’s Leadership Excellence Award


Please contact the Office of Faculty Development at, if you have any questions.